de | en | es

Happy Birthday, Kronenflex!

In 1950, i.e. exactly seventy years ago, inventor and visionary Carl Klingspor devised a product that was to leave a significant mark on the world of metalworking. The invention of high-speed cutting-off wheels revolutionised the cutting of materials – and has made it possible for the Kronenflex® cutting-off wheels to celebrate their 70th birthday this year.

Click here for the current Kronenflex-Products:

„High-speed cutting-off wheels embodied the most forward-looking idea conceived in abrasive technology in recent years“

Carl Klingspor, 1964

1950

A high-speed cutting-off wheel? Nobody had heard of such a thing in 1950. Back then, traditional hand wheels and cutting blades – often measuring 6 and 13 millimetres in thickness – reigned supreme. “Processing metal was a labour-intensive and time-consuming chore – and, with hardly anybody realising, the demand on the market for an alternative product solution began to soar”, people at Klingspor remember. No wonder then that Carl Klingspor quickly teamed up with tool manufacturers in 1950 to develop the first high-speed cutting-off wheel the world had ever seen: the Kronenflex® wheel was born...

1952

Klingspor brings out the “Kronenschleifer” – a company-owned magazine published with the sub-title of “News about high-speed elastic grinding with Kronenflex abrasives”. This publication provides customers with first-hand information on high-speed grinding...

1954

Manufacturers of hand-held grinding and cutting machines discover the benefits of the innovative abrasive discs. The Stuttgart company Ackermann & Schmitt (today: FLEX-Elektrowerkzeuge) unveils the first high-speed angle grinder under the name of DL 9. This product release allows Kronenflex® cutting-off wheels for the first time to be accelerated to up to 13,000 revolutions/minute, unleashing their full cutting power.

1961

Carl Klingspor is recognised for his lifetime accomplishments in Nuremberg, where he is awarded the Diesel medal in gold for his achievements as a pioneer and inventor in modern abrasive technology. Over ten years after his greatest invention, he finally received the recognition he had to wait for such a long time.

Klingspor Moments

#70yearskronenflex #happybirthdaykronenflex #kronenflex

de | en | es

Happy Birthday Kronenflex!

1950, also vor genau siebzig Jahren, entwickelte der Unternehmer, Erfinder und Visionär Carl Klingspor ein Produkt, das die Metallbearbeitung nachhaltig prägen sollte. Das Trennen von Werkstoffen wurde durch die Erfindung hochtouriger Trennscheiben revolutioniert – dieses Jahr feiern die Kronenflex® Trennscheiben ihren 70sten Geburtstag.

Hier geht’s zum aktuellen Kronenflex-Sortiment:

„Hochtourige Trennscheiben waren die fortschrittlichste
Idee der letzten Jahre in der Schleiftechnik“

Carl Klingspor, 1964

1950

Eine hochtourige Trennscheibe? Davon hatte bis 1950 noch niemand gehört. Zum Einsatz kamen ausschließlich traditionelle Schub- und Trennscheiben – nicht selten zwischen 6 und 13 Millimetern dick. „Die Metallbearbeitung war damals sehr aufwendig und zeitraubend – ohne dass man es wusste, stieg die Nachfrage am Markt nach einer alternativen Produktlösung “, erinnert man sich bei Klingspor. Kein Wunder also, dass Carl Klingspor sich 1950 kurzentschlossen mit Werkzeugherstellern zusammensetzte, um die erste hochtourige Trennscheibe zu entwickeln: die Kronenflex®-Scheibe war geboren…

1952

Klingspor veröffentlicht den „Kronenschleifer“ – eine unternehmenseigene Zeitschrift mit dem Untertitel „Mitteilungen über hochtouriges, elastisches Schleifen mit Kronenflex-Schleifmitteln“. Mit dieser Zeitschrift erhalten Kunden Informationen zum hochtourigen Schleifen aus erster Hand…

1954

Die Hersteller von Handschleif- und Trennmaschinen erkennen die Vorteile der neuartigen Schleifscheiben. Das Stuttgarter Unternehmen Ackermann & Schmitt (heute FLEX-Elektrowerkzeuge) bringt den ersten hochtourigen Winkelschleifer mit der Bezeichnung DL 9 auf den Markt. Damit können Kronenflex® Trennscheiben erstmals auf bis zu 13.000 Umdrehung/ Minute beschleunigt werden und ihre Trennleistung voll entfalten.

1961

In Nürnberg wird Carl Klingspor für sein Lebenswerk geehrt und erhält die Dieselmedaille in Gold für Pionier- und Erfinderleistungen auf dem Gebiet moderner Schleiftechnik. Über zehn Jahre nach seiner größten Erfindung erhält er damit endlich die Anerkennung, auf die er lange Zeit warten musste.

Klingspor Momente

#70yearskronenflex #happybirthdaykronenflex #kronenflex